#NaNoWriMo Day Fourteen

Update Day Fourteen

#NaNoWriMo entry #HerUnexpectedLife.

I wrote 2,688 today on #NaNoWriMo Novel #HerUnexpectedLife bringing it up to 26,670.

My oldest was suppose to have a swim meet today but about two hours before we needed to leave her eye was swollen and red.  It’s down now but she has started coughing.  I see a sick day in her future.

   Her Unexpected Life-3

I have wrote nothing today on #OutoftheBlue ‘s addition.  Leaving the whole books at 53,775 and the addition at 8,863.  Maybe tonight I can get some words down.  I said that last night too.

(I forgot to ask which cover do you like better?)

I did work on edits for #OutoftheBlue Chapters 12-18.  So the evening wasn’t totally lost.

cropped-image.jpeg

Tip 6: Give yourself permission.

If you want to be a writer you have to write so other things might not get done.  If you struggle with writing at home because your mind wanders to laundry that needs done or the dirty dishes in the sink go somewhere.  The park, a restaurant, a parking lot (during the day only) or anywhere there isn’t things that distract you.

Tip 5: Take time for you.

All work and no play makes for a stressed writer.  Veg out, take an internet break, sneak some TV and spend some time with the people who love and support your writing.

Tip 4: Relax.

It’s just a draft and no one but you has to every see it.  Even diamonds need to be polished.

Tip 3: Write.

Another thing that just sounds easy to do but I struggled with this for the past eight months with Out of the Blue.  I would write a couple of chapters and then edit them.  Write a few more and edit them.  Around chapter fifteen I had read enough articles and interviews from seasoned authors to get it.  If I haven’t written it I couldn’t edit it. I was procrastinating when I was doing this.  Fear that I couldn’t finish a book.  Fear that no one would read it.  I was sabotaging myself.  I’m still working on that book but I have published a few children’s books with my oldest daughter.

Tip 2: Turn off the TV.

Seems simple but I struggle with this one with some of the shows I like to watch  starting back up.

Tip 1: Turn the wifi off on your laptop.

 That box that pops up with Email, Facebook and Twitter updates is like pieces of candy dropped on the forest floor leading me to the witch’s house.  (When I turn wifi back on my computer could be mistaken for a quarter machine in Vegas with all the dinging that’s going on.)

Leave a Reply

