#NaNoWriMo Day Twelve

Update Day Twelve #NaNoWriMo entry #HerUnexpectedLife.

I am creeping toward the 25,000 bar in my #NaNoWriMo Novel #HerUnexpectedLife.  I wrote 1,678 words today for a grand total of 22,286.  I also made a cover yesterday on this site Canva.  What I did was free but they have other photos $1 a piece.  #NaNoWriMo website says it increases your chances of winning by 60% so it couldn’t hurt while you were taking a break around the internet to check it out.

I have written another 890 words so far today on the #OutoftheBlue ‘s addition bringing the addition up to 8587 words and the book up to 53,499.  I am still writing on this one but wanted to post early today.  I hope to double that 890 by the end of the day.

cropped-image.jpegTip 4: Relax.

It’s just a draft and no one but you has to every see it.  Even diamonds need to be polished.

Tip 3: Write.

Another thing that just sounds easy to do but I struggled with this for the past eight months with Out of the Blue.  I would write a couple of chapters and then edit them.  Write a few more and edit them.  Around chapter fifteen I had read enough articles and interviews from seasoned authors to get it.  If I haven’t written it I couldn’t edit it. I was procrastinating when I was doing this.  Fear that I couldn’t finish a book.  Fear that no one would read it.  I was sabotaging myself.  I’m still working on that book but I have published a few children’s books with my oldest daughter.

Tip 2: Turn off the TV.

Seems simple but I struggle with this one with some of the shows I like to watch  starting back up.

Tip 1: Turn the wifi off on your laptop.

 That box that pops up with Email, Facebook and Twitter updates is like pieces of candy dropped on the forest floor leading me to the witch’s house.  (When I turn wifi back on my computer could be mistaken for a quarter machine in Vegas with all the dinging that’s going on.)

3 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day Twelve

    1. I’m trying really hard to keep up my pace. I really want to get Out of the Blue done and out by Christmas. Oddly I thought NaNoWriMo might slow me down with my goal but it’s doing the opposite. The additional chapters have already exceeded my goal of 6,000 words. Keep that keyboard clacking along even if you have to switch to outline mode. 😉 You got this!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

